We've had a lot of people asking about CCW classes in our shop. With the expansion of John's Gun Shop came a bigger classroom, perfect for holding CCW classes so we are ready to start scheduling them again.
Matt Canovi with Canovi & Associates will be teaching our classes. If you are not familiar with Canovi & Associates, I'd like to give a personal review of their classes since he taught my CCW class.
Unlike most other CCW classes, including the class John attended, Canovi has gone the extra mile to provide real value in his class.
Matt Canovi has a lot of experience in this line of work including years of working in law enforcement, having a hands on experience with the many scenarios where a license to carry concealed might be needed. He is knowledgeable and his class is superior to other classes being offered in our area. His slideshow will give you visuals on what you are learning, which will also help you to retain the load of information you will get all at once.
Between the slideshow, the details, the personal touch his experience gives, and the way he presents his information, I would recommend making sure it's Canovi & Associates who is holding your class. You won't find another CCW class with as much detail and information for practical application.
I would also highly recommend the CCW Plus course that is offered after completing the CCW class. The knowledgeable trainers teach and prepare you to win a gunfight based on factual supported data. I'm really glad I took this extra step.
Canovi & Associates has access to Bass Pro's range for the qualifying portion of his class. Being rained out at the range is not a problem.
Here are some details for our CCW classes:
CCW Class $50.00 + $10 range fee
For the qualifying portion, bring:
- semi-auto and revolver
- 40 rounds of ammo for each firearm
Eye and ear protection will be provided at no charge
Gun Rentals (if needed)
Revolver + required .22 ammo $20.00
Semi-auto + required .22 ammo $25.00
Click here for our schedule: link
Obtaining a Concealed Carry Permit in Missouri
You must be 21 years of age to apply for a concealed carry permit. For full requirements, see page 15 of this document: Senate Bill No. 75
- 8 hours of instruction - including classroom and qualifying time
- Shooting a revolver and a semi-auto handgun - you are required to hit the big-as-life target 20 times with each gun, out of a minimum of 50 rounds.
After taking the class, call your local sheriff's office to make an appointment.
Concealed Carry Permit Requirements:
- A photocopy of a firearms safety training certificate - which we will give you upon completion of this class
- A non-refundable fee of $100
- A valid driver's license - if your current address is not on your DL, you may be required to bring additional proof of residency
The sheriff will obtain finger prints for the background check. They have 45 days to approve or deny your permit. Permits issued after August 28, 2013 are valid for 5 years. Renewal costs $50.
Notice: As of January 1, 2014 Missouri CCW permits are no longer issued by the DMV. The sheriff's office will handle the complete process. In some counties, including Greene county, the sheriff's office is already issuing the permits in house. You will need to contact your county sheriff to get up-to-date information from them.
If you or someone you know is interested in obtaining your concealed carry permit but have never handled a handgun or are uncomfortable around them, consider taking our class for beginners that teaches you how to safely handle and use a firearm. For more info, click here: link